Fateful Eyes

Facebook ad picture

Since the spring of 2010, my picturesque home country of Greece has become the epicenter of a pan-European financial crisis with global repercussions. Inspired by the astounding beauty of this small, sunny, rocky corner of the world where I grew up, and baffled by its roller-coaster stratospheric ascent and crashing collapse that occurred during the course of a single decade, I decided to pen an intriguing story about a life spent searching for love, accomplishments, and true fulfillment, within the world upheavals that, unfortunately, characterize the beginning of the new millennium.

In my own life, I have traveled to many continents, I have been acquainted with many different people from different cultures, and I have humbly attempted to comprehend the dizzying pace of events that are unfolding in such a frenetic tempo around us. Like the main character of my story, my life has been spent in between airport’s departure and arrival gates. In my profession in the maritime industry, where ships cross the oceans of the world carrying the goods that we all use in our everyday lives, most of my colleagues are leading similar lives, constantly on the go. One of my best friends, a Hawaiian, jokes that when he is asked where he is living, he replies “in 34B”, an airplane seat.
In the hectic tempo of my business life, the only hours for true relaxation come when I can lie down on my own seat next to a window with a good book in hand, jazz music in my earphones, looking down on the Gobi desert or on the frozen Siberian shores of the Arctic Ocean or wherever, disconnected from my mobile phone, disconnected from my email, free at last to ponder on what is truly real and truly important. It was during those long hours of relaxed inactivity that I started drawing the contours of this story.

In my new novel, ‘Fateful Eyes,’ I aspire to share those experiences with you by telling the story of Peter, a cosmopolitan Greek who lives in the UK is traveling around the world, trying to solve a great puzzle, trying to locate a mysterious lady who came from his distant, youthful and lustful past, and upset his life and his relationship with his affectionate lover.

Yet, the puzzle itself is not the essence of this novel. The puzzle is only a ‘pretext’ to justify the exposure of Peter’s tortuous and twisted path in life, as well as to narrate the lives of everyone around him, as they all become unwittingly entangled into the rolling thunder of the world’s current upheavals, terrorism, wars, and economic crises. Like a modern Odyssey, the real essence of this novel is Peter’s long and tormenting journey towards his destination, towards the completion of his mission. As the great Alexandrian poet Constantinos Kavafis wrote “when you set out on the path to Ithaki, wish for the journey to be long…” Peter’s struggle is indeed very long, hard, and yet, ultimately fulfilling.

You can find this book at my Amazon page or you can read a free sample in my Facebook page.

I wish that you will feel the same pleasure in reading this book as I have felt when writing it. Thank you!

About panosnomikos

I have published "Fateful Eyes", an intriguing novel about love, war, financial crisis and a man's quest to comprehend fate's dizzying gaze...
This entry was posted in Fateful Eyes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fateful Eyes

  1. Pingback: Dystopia in the Present | StreetWraith Press

  2. Pingback: Dystopia in the Present | StreetWraith Press

Leave a Reply

